Minnesota Hospital Association


July 16, 2012

Local hospital leaders recognized by Minnesota Hospital Association

Eleven hospital leaders join 35 others in state who have a completed comprehensive certification training

ST. PAUL, Minn.
Eleven hospital trustees from across Minnesota were recognized for earning certification through the Minnesota Hospital Association’s trustee certification program. The comprehensive certification process prepares hospital trustees to effectively meet the growing demands of serving on a hospital board and to be strong health care and community leaders.    

By participating in MHA’s voluntary certification program, hospital trustees receive training on current health care trends; governance best practices; ethics; government regulations; patient safety; and quality. Participants undergo 35 hours of coursework, making Minnesota’s initiative the most comprehensive in the nation.

“In Minnesota, more and more hospital trustees are formally preparing themselves to address the often complicated issues facing hospitals and health systems today,” Massa said. “Our trustee certification program proactively ensures that hospital leaders are well-prepared to make good decisions. 

“With so many changes in health care policy and practice —especially under federal and state health care reform — hospital trustees want this kind of support to be strong leaders in their organizations,” he added. “And earning this certification demonstrates a trustee’s commitment to the patients and communities the hospital serves.”

Following are the newly certified trustees:

  • Richard H. Berge, Ph.D., District One Hospital, Faribault
  • Jolene Blake, Cook Hospital and C&NC
  • Mary Capra, Fairview Lakes Health Services, Wyoming
  • Rosemary Esler, North Suburban Hospital District, Unity Hospital, Fridley
  • Debra Ferguson, Lake Region Healthcare, Fergus Falls
  • Gina G. Franklin, Northfield Hospital
  • Gail M. Langhorst, Mercy Hospital, Moose Lake
  • Dian Rae Lopez, Douglas County Hospital, Alexandria
  • Brenda Peterson, District One Hospital, Faribault
  • Nate Sandman, Community Memorial Hospital, Cloquet
  • Marvin Tinklenberg, Pipestone County Medical Center

For more information about MHA’s hospital trustee certification program, click here. For more information about Minnesota hospitals, visit www.mnhospitals.org.