Minnesota Hospital Association


May 13, 2013

Seven Minnesota hospitals recognized for excellence in patient safety

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Seven Minnesota hospitals have been recognized by the Minnesota Hospital Association for their exceptional work to enhance patient safety and quality of care.

The Patient Safety Excellence Awards program recognizes hospitals’ efforts to prevent pressure ulcers or bedsores; falls; wrong-site surgical or other invasive procedures; and foreign objects unintentionally left behind during labor and delivery. Awards are bestowed quarterly, and hospitals must re-qualify each round.

The association’s safety campaigns — SAFE SKIN, SAFE from FALLS, SAFE SITE, SAFE COUNT and SAFE ACCOUNT — are based on national and state best practices. They also incorporate lessons learned from participating hospitals that experienced adverse health events.

Awardees must implement at least 90 percent of each campaign’s required measures. One such measure, for instance, requires hospitals to reposition immobile patients every two hours if such patients are at risk for developing pressure ulcers.

To learn more, visit MHA’s website at http://www.mnhospitals.org/ptsafetyexcellence.

Minnesota Hospital Association Patient Safety Excellence Awards Winners
December 2012 (publicized May 2013)

  • Maple Grove Hospital, SAFE SKIN
  • Mayo Clinic Health System in Red Wing, SAFE SKIN
  • Rainy Lake Medical Center, International Falls, SAFE SKIN
  • Swift County-Benson Hospital, SAFE SKIN
  • Chippewa County-Montevideo Hospital, SAFE SITE and SAFE ACCOUNT
  • Essentia Health-Ada, SAFE SITE
  • Owatonna Hospital, Safe ACCOUNT