Minnesota Hospital Association


May 23, 2016

Minnesota hospital programs, leaders honored

Minnesota Hospital Association’s annual awards recognize patient safety, volunteerism, innovations in patient care, hospital excellence   

ST. PAUL – The Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) on May 20 honored innovative programs and outstanding leaders in health care at its 32nd annual awards ceremony.   

Seventeen awards were given for extraordinary achievement in categories ranging from advocacy on behalf of hospitals and volunteerism to innovation and improvement in patient care and patient safety.   

“Each day, all across the state, Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems are working to strengthen the health of our communities,” said MHA President and CEO Lawrence Massa. “Our exceptional care teams set the bar high for patient care and for meeting the needs of their communities. Thanks to their expertise, diligence and commitment to excellence, Minnesota’s hospitals continue to be among the best in the nation.”   

The awards and recipients are:   

American Hospital Association Grassroots Champion: Dr. Steven Mulder, president and CEO, Hutchinson Health

Best Minnesota Hospital Workplace: Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare, Saint Paul; River’s Edge Hospital & Clinic, Saint Peter   

Caregiver of the Year: Dr. Andrew Kopperud, Sanford Westbrook Medical Center   

Community Benefit: Lake Region Healthcare, Fergus Falls; Cuyuna Regional Medical Center, Crosby   

Good Catch for Patient Safety: Sherrie Eischens, RN, CHI St. Joseph’s Health, Park Rapids   

Innovation of the Year in Patient Care: Regions Hospital, Saint Paul; New Ulm Medical Center   

Patient Safety Improvement: Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare, Saint Paul; River’s Edge Hospital & Clinic, Saint Peter   

Public Achievement: The Honorable Lucinda Jesson, former commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Services   

Spirit of Advocacy: Joy Plamann, section director of hospital medicine, CentraCare Health   

Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award: John Fossum, CEO, Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital   

Trustee of the Year: Ron Osladil, Essentia Health-Sandstone    

Volunteer of the Year Award: Bob Nelson, St. Cloud Hospital, CentraCare Health   

Associate Member of the Year: Witt/Kieffer   

Please visit our website for descriptions of the 2016 award winners: www.mnhospitals.org/about/mha-awards     

The Minnesota Hospital Association represents 137 hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.   

# # #