Minnesota Hospital Association


June 06, 2017

Minnesota hospital programs, leaders honored

Minnesota Hospital Association’s annual awards recognize patient safety, volunteerism, innovations in patient care, hospital excellence

ST. PAUL – The Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) on June 2 honored innovative programs and outstanding leaders in health care at its 33rd annual awards ceremony.

Seventeen awards were given for extraordinary achievement in categories ranging from advocacy on behalf of hospitals and volunteerism to innovation and improvement in patient care and patient safety. 

“Each day, all across the state, Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems are working to strengthen the health of our communities,” said MHA President and CEO Lawrence Massa. “Our exceptional care teams set the bar high for patient care and for meeting the needs of their communities. Thanks to their expertise, diligence and commitment to excellence, Minnesota’s hospitals continue to be among the best in the nation.”   

The awards and recipients are:   

American Hospital Association Grassroots Champion: Carl Vaagenes, CEO, Douglas County Hospital, Alexandria   

Best Minnesota Hospital Workplace: Regions Hospital, Saint Paul; River’s Edge Hospital & Clinic, Saint Peter   

Bruce and Denise Rueben Courage: Lawrence Massa, president and CEO, Minnesota Hospital Association   

Caregiver of the Year: Toni Strand, RN, Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center   

Community Benefit: Regions Hospital, Saint Paul; Bigfork Valley Hospital   

Good Catch for Patient Safety: Sonam Serpolamatsang, Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital, Saint Louis Park   

Innovation of the Year in Patient Care: Fairview Health Services, Minneapolis; CHI St. Gabriel’s Health, Little Falls   

Quality and Patient Safety Improvement: Children’s Minnesota, Minneapolis; Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center   

Spirit of Advocacy: Paul Goering, M.D., Allina Health, Minneapolis   

Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award: Rachelle Schultz, president and CEO, Winona Health

Trustee of the Year: Jim McDonough, Regions Hospital, Saint Paul   

Volunteer of the Year Award: Marcie Lindgren, Bigfork Valley Hospital   

Associate Member of the Year: Life Link III, Minneapolis   

Please visit our website for descriptions of the 2017 award winners: www.mnhospitals.org/about/mha-awards

The Minnesota Hospital Association represents 142 hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.   

# # #