Minnesota Hospital Association


January 18, 2018

Local hospital leaders recognized by Minnesota Hospital Association for completing comprehensive certification training

ST. PAUL — Fifteen hospital trustees from across Minnesota were recognized for earning certification through the Minnesota Hospital Association’s trustee certification program. The comprehensive certification process prepares hospital trustees to effectively meet the growing demands of serving on a hospital board and to be strong health care and community leaders.    

By participating in MHA’s voluntary certification program, hospital trustees receive training on current health care trends, governance best practices, ethics, government regulations, patient safety and quality. Participants undergo 35 hours of coursework, making Minnesota’s initiative the most comprehensive in the nation.    

“In Minnesota, more and more hospital trustees are formally preparing themselves to address the often complicated issues facing hospitals and health systems today,” said Lawrence Massa, MHA president and CEO. “Our trustee certification program proactively ensures that hospital leaders are well-prepared to make good decisions.”    

“With so many changes in health care policy and practice – especially under federal and state health care reform – hospital trustees want this kind of support to be strong leaders in their organizations,” Massa said. “Earning this certification demonstrates a trustee’s commitment to the patients and communities the hospital serves.”   

Following are the newly certified trustees:   

CentraCare Health - Long Prairie             

  • David Petersen   

Chippewa County-Montevideo Hospital             

  • Mark W. Rekow   

Douglas County Hospital, Alexandria             

  • Charlie Meyer             
  • Larry Ortloff   

FirstLight Health System, Mora             

  • Amy Anderson   

Grand Itasca Clinic and Hospital, Grand Rapids             

  • Jan Rourk, M.D.   

Johnson Memorial Health Services, Dawson             

  • Jesi Martinson   

Lake View Hospital, Two Harbors             

  • Jesse Frye (also a trustee at St. Luke’s Hospital)   

North Memorial Health, Robbinsdale             

  • Robert Prentiss, Jr.   

Perham Health             

  • John H. Halvorson   

Ridgeview Le Sueur Medical Center             

  • Randy Baum   

Riverwood Healthcare Center, Aitkin             

  • David W. Meyer   

Sanford Thief River Falls Medical Center             

  • Colleen Hoffman   

St. Cloud Hospital             

  • Bob Kovell             
  • Timothy Wensman   

St. Luke’s Hospital, Duluth             

  • Jesse Frye (also a trustee at Lake View Hospital)   

For more information about MHA’s hospital trustee certification program, visit www.mnhospitals.org/trustees. For more information about Minnesota hospitals, visit www.mnhospitals.org.      

The Minnesota Hospital Association represents 142 hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.   

# # #