Minnesota Hospital Association


September 04, 2018

MHA Newsline: Sept. 4, 2018

In this issue 

Tim Rice honored with MHA Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award

MHA on June 1 honored innovative programs and outstanding leaders in health care at its 34th annual awards ceremony.   

Tim Rice, president and CEO of Lakewood Health System in Staples, received the Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes an executive at an MHA hospital who has demonstrated a history of significant leadership beyond his or her hospital or system.   

In his 38 years at Lakewood Health System, Rice has set the standard for distinguished service in Minnesota health care. His leadership has guided the organization through numerous clinic and senior living additions and acquisitions, significant building projects and expansions and a merger between the hospital and clinic to become integrated as one of the largest Critical Access Hospitals in the state, employing more than 800 people.   

He has led the implementation of programs that are unique to his region - like the comprehensive Medical Home and palliative care programs - and are high-performing - like nationally recognized food access programs and the LHS care center, which is ranked in the top 1 percent in Minnesota.  

Additional award winners will be profiled in upcoming issues of Newsline. To learn more about the award winners, visit the MHA websitereturn to top   

MHA HAI Committee chair elected ISDA fellow

Ayesha Rashid, M.D., FACP, chair of MHA’s Healthcare-Associated Infection (HAI) Committee, has been elected a fellow of the Infectious Disease Society of America (ISDA). Fellowship in IDSA honors specialists who have achieved professional excellence and provided significant service to the profession.  

Rashid has an outpatient and inpatient infectious disease practice at Allina Health and Fairview Health Services through the St. Paul Infectious Disease Associates group.   

“Ayesha has been a strong and passionate leader across Minnesota who has worked diligently to reduce the burden of infectious disease in our communities and carefully steward powerful antimicrobials to improve patient care,” said Rahul Koranne, M.D., MHA’s chief medical officer. “We are truly grateful for Ayesha’s continued leadership on the MHA HAI Committee alongside experts from throughout the state. We congratulate her on this national recognition.” return to top   

MHA awards first Maintenance of Certification credits for quality participation

MHA on Aug. 29 awarded its first set of Maintenance of Certification (MOC) credits through its partnership with the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Multi-Specialty Portfolio Program.   ABMS MOC credits allow physicians to meet the requirements for maintaining their board certification while meaningfully participating in MHA quality and patient safety improvement programs in their organizations. MHA launched its partnership with ABMS in late 2017.   

ABMS has currently approved two MHA quality improvement projects focusing on surgical safety and practitioner burnout for MOC credits. Dr. Mark Matthias, vice president of medical affairs, St. Cloud Hospital, earned the first 20 credits from MHA through the American Board of Family Medicine. Matthias serves as chair for the burnout quality improvement project.  

“Getting Maintenance of Certification points through the MHA and ABMS partnership was a very easy process with minimal burden,” said Matthias. “This new process helps align the continuous quality improvement activities of physicians with the health care system and our teams in order to improve the health of the patients, families and communities we are privileged to serve.”   

Physicians involved with MHA quality improvement work will now be eligible to receive MOC credits on an ongoing basis. With questions, contact Dr. Rahul Koranne, chief medical officer, MHA, 651-659-1445. return to top  

Thank you to Annual Meeting sponsors

MHA's Annual Meeting will be held Sept. 19-21 at Madden’s on Gull Lake in Brainerd. For more information or to register, download the conference brochure or visit the MHA website.   

Many key sponsors have already committed to helping MHA deliver a high-quality program. MHA would like to thank the following sponsors for their generosity and continued commitment to Minnesota health care. For more information about sponsorships, contact Cari Kronschnable, clerical/program coordinator, MHA, 651-659-1428.   

Gold Sponsors
CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Groove Entertainment Technologies
HDR Architecture
Ryan Companies U.S. Inc   

Silver Sponsors
Dougherty & Company LLC
DSGW Architects
EAPC Architects Engineers
Eide Bailly LLP
Excelsior LLC
JE Dunn Construction
Life Link III
MMIC Group
McGough Construction
NXC Imaging
RJM Construction
Wipfli LLP

Bronze Sponsors
B. E. Smith
Boldt Construction
Delta Medical Systems
Nor-Son, Inc.
Stinson Leonard Street LLP
Wold Architects and Engineers   

return to top