Minnesota Hospital Association


January 07, 2019

MHA Newsline: Jan. 7, 2019

In this issue 

Gov. Walz, Lt. Gov. Flanagan appoint human services, health commissioners

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan on Jan. 3 announced a new round of commissioner appointments, including for the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) and the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH).   

State Sen. Tony Lourey was appointed as commissioner of the Department of Human Services. Lourey was elected to the Minnesota Senate in 2006 and served as the chair of the Health and Human Finance Committee from 2013 to 2016. Lourey worked as a public policy consultant for 20 years, assisting county and state governments nationwide in finding ways to finance health and human services programs.   

Jan Malcolm was reappointed as commissioner of the Department of Health, a role she has held in three administrations, including Gov. Jesse Ventura (1999-2003) and Gov. Mark Dayton (2018). Before rejoining MDH in 2018, Malcolm was an adjunct faculty member at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health, where she co-directed a national research and leadership development program. Malcolm previously served as CEO of the Courage Center and as president of the Courage Kenny Foundation following the merger of Courage Center and the Sister Kenny Rehabilitation Institute. She has also worked as vice president of public affairs and philanthropy at Allina Health.   

“On behalf of our 142 hospital and health system members, we congratulate Tony Lourey on his appointment and Jan Malcolm on her reappointment to lead Minnesota’s efforts in human services and health,” said Lorry Massa, president and CEO, MHA. “We look forward to continuing our partnerships with both commissioners on behalf of those receiving and providing high-quality health care throughout our state.” return to top   

8 hospitals recognized by MHA for excellence in quality and patient safety

Each quarter, MHA recognizes hospitals and health systems for superior performance in quality and patient safety as part of MHA’s Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN), which is working to reduce overall patient harm by 20 percent and 30-day hospital readmissions by 12 percent. During the fourth quarter of 2018, eight hospitals were recognized.   

Three hospitals earned a Partnership for Patients Excellence banner. This award indicates that the hospital is reporting on 75 percent or more of eligible outcome measures and road maps, is meeting the HIIN reduction goal on 70 percent or more of eligible outcome measures and has met patient and family engagement criteria. 

  • Essentia Health-Graceville 
  • Maple Grove Hospital 
  • Sanford Canby Medical Center 

Five hospitals earned a Partnership for Patients Excellence certificate. This award indicates that the hospital is reporting on 75 percent or more of eligible outcome measures and road maps. 

  • Hennepin Healthcare, Minneapolis 
  • Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital, Saint Louis Park 
  • RC Hospital & Clinics, Olivia 
  • Regions Hospital, Saint Paul 
  • Sanford Jackson Medical Center 

For more information about quality and patient safety efforts at Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems, visit www.mnhospitals.org/quality-patient-safetyreturn to top  

MHA members encouraged to submit Good Catch Award nominations

The MHA Good Catch for Patient Safety Award is presented to Minnesota hospital staff who demonstrate their commitment to keeping patients safe by speaking up to prevent potential harm to a patient. MHA encourages individual and team nominations, or nominations for system or organizational process and safety improvements that were made to prevent near misses and good catches from reaching patients. It is because of actions taken every day by dedicated professionals like the Good Catch Award honorees that Minnesota hospitals continue to be front-runners in patient safety.   

The Good Catch Award is a tiered award. Individuals and/or team members recognized with the award are entered into the running to win the quarterly Good Catch for Patient Safety award. Quarterly recipients are eligible to win the annual Good Catch for Patient Safety award, presented at the MHA Annual Awards banquet each spring.   

To learn more and nominate someone for the Good Catch Award, visit the MHA websitereturn to top