Minnesota Hospital Association


June 05, 2019

Minnesota hospital programs, leaders honored

Minnesota Hospital Association’s annual awards recognize patient safety, volunteerism, innovations in patient care, hospital excellence   

ST. PAUL – The Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) on May 31 honored innovative programs and outstanding leaders in health care at its 35th annual awards ceremony.   

Awards were given for extraordinary achievement in categories ranging from advocacy on behalf of hospitals and volunteerism to innovation and improvement in patient care and patient safety.   

“Each day, all across the state, Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems are working to strengthen the health of our communities,” said MHA President and CEO Lawrence Massa. “Our exceptional care teams set the bar high for patient care and for meeting the needs of their communities. Thanks to their expertise, diligence and commitment to excellence, Minnesota’s hospitals continue to be among the best in the nation.”   

The awards and recipients are:   

American Hospital Association Grassroots Champion: Steve Underdahl, president and CEO of Northfield Hospital and Clinics   

Best Minnesota Hospital Workplace: Maple Grove Hospital; New Ulm Medical Center   

Caregiver of the Year: Tammy Sinkfield-Morey, RN, nursing supervisor, Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare, St. Paul   

Community Benefit: Fairview Health Services, Minneapolis; CentraCare Health – Long Prairie   

Good Catch for Patient Safety: Kara Boyko Frandson, Pharm.D., Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Minneapolis   

Innovation of the Year in Patient Care: Regions Hospital, St. Paul; Winona Health Services   

Quality and Patient Safety Improvement: Allina Health, Minneapolis; River’s Edge Hospital & Clinic, St. Peter   

Spirit of Advocacy: Greg Klugherz, senior vice president of finance and CFO, St. Cloud Hospital   

Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award: Carl Vaagenes, CEO, Alomere Health, Alexandria   

Trustee of the Year: David Anfinson, Carris Health, Willmar   

Associate Member of the Year: Gallagher, Bloomington   

Please visit our website for award winner descriptions: www.mnhospitals.org/about/mha-awards   

The Minnesota Hospital Association represents Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.   

# # #