Minnesota Hospital Association


January 14, 2014

Local hospital leaders recognized by Minnesota Hospital Association

Thirteen hospital leaders join 73 others in state who have completed comprehensive certification training    

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Thirteen hospital trustees from across Minnesota were recognized for earning certification through the Minnesota Hospital Association’s trustee certification program. The comprehensive certification process prepares hospital trustees to effectively meet the growing demands of serving on a hospital board and to be strong health care and community leaders.     

By participating in MHA’s voluntary certification program, hospital trustees receive training on current health care trends; governance best practices; ethics; government regulations; patient safety; and quality. Participants undergo 35 hours of coursework, making Minnesota’s initiative the most comprehensive in the nation.  

“In Minnesota, more and more hospital trustees are formally preparing themselves to address the often complicated issues facing hospitals and health systems today,” said Lawrence Massa, MHA president and CEO. “Our trustee certification program proactively ensures that hospital leaders are well-prepared to make good decisions.”  

“With so many changes in health care policy and practice — especially under federal and state health care reform — hospital trustees want this kind of support to be strong leaders in their organizations,” he added. “And earning this certification demonstrates a trustee’s commitment to the patients and communities the hospital serves.”  

Following are the newly certified trustees:  

Community Memorial Hospital, Cloquet

  • Kevin Toboleski  

FirstLight Health System, Mora

  • Kim Smith  

Lakewood Health System, Staples

  • Carolynne Bisel
  • Bev Hoemberg  

Perham Health         

  • Eugene Jahnke  

Range Regional Health Services, Hibbing        

  • Bradley E. Anderson (former board member)  

Riverwood Healthcare Center, Aitkin         

  • John W. Newstrom (former board member)  

Sanford Thief River Falls Medical Center         

  • Marty Johnson  

St. Joseph’s Area Health Services, Inc.         

  • John C. Warren  

Swift County-Benson Hospital         

  • Joe Fox         
  • Patty Schreck  

Tri-County Health Care, Wadena

  • Matthew S. Van Bruggen
  • Thomas P. Van Bruggen, M.D.  

For more information about MHA’s hospital trustee certification program, visit www.mnhospitals.org/trustees. For more information about Minnesota hospitals, visit www.mnhospitals.org.