Minnesota Hospital Association


September 25, 2023

Minnesota Hospital Association Awards Excellence in Health care

 Minnesota Hospital Association recognizes the best in Hospitals, Health Systems, and Individual contributors to healthy communities    

Sept. 25, 2023, ST. PAUL, Minn. -- At its recent Annual Meeting, the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) proudly awarded dedicated hospital and health system teams and individual healthcare trailblazers from across Minnesota. These recognitions serve as a testament to their unwavering commitment to nurturing the health of Minnesotans amidst an era of unprecedented health care evolution and strain.  

"In one of health care's most challenging eras, our Minnesota hospitals and teams have stood unwaveringly by the patients and the communities we are privileged to serve. They've not only ensured exceptional care but have also been a beacon of hope and trust. This is our moment to honor their dedication to every patient, every day. Their ongoing collaboration and commitment to excellence ensure that every Minnesotan continues to receive the best care possible," remarked Rahul Koranne, MHA president and CEO.    

MHA team awards were presented in categories, as follows:     

Best Minnesota Hospital Workplaces           

  • Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital
  • M Health Fairview Ridges Hospital    

Community Benefits

  • Improving Food Insecurity, Cuyuna Regional Medical Center
  • Brewery Creek Apartments, Essentia Health
  • Riverwood Connects, Riverwood Healthcare Center
  • Black Men White Coats, Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare

Innovations of the Year in Patient Care

  • Sensory Integration Program, Windom Area Health
  • Single Anesthesia Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Removal, Abbott Northwestern Hospital

Quality and Safety Improvements

  • Falls Improvement in MS/ICC, Maple Grove Hospital
  • Antibiotic Stewardship Program, Astera Health
  • Proactive Identification of Substance Use Disorder to Reduce Readmissions, Hennepin Healthcare

 MHA individual awards were presented in categories as follows:     

Workforce leaders of the year

  • Joe Kalkman, CentraCare
  • Stacy Barstad, Sanford Tracy Medical Center

Caregivers of the Year

  • Nancy Burmeister, Rainy Lake Medical Center
  • Nancy Johnson, Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center
  • Andy Rowe, Children's Minnesota

Spirit of Advocacy

  • Adam Karlen, Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital
  • Rachelle Schultz, Winona Health    

Trustee of the Year

  • Larry Anderson, United Hospital District

Volunteer of the Year

  • Derek Williams, Hennepin Healthcare

Distinguished Service

  • Sara Criger    

Public Servant of the Year

  • Jan Malcolm, retired Minnesota Health Commissioner