Minnesota Hospital Association


January 14, 2015

Local hospital leaders recognized by Minnesota Hospital Association

Sixteen hospital leaders join 91 others in state who have completed comprehensive certification training

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Sixteen hospital trustees from across Minnesota were recognized for earning certification through the Minnesota Hospital Association’s trustee certification program. The comprehensive certification process prepares hospital trustees to effectively meet the growing demands of serving on a hospital board and to be strong health care and community leaders.        

By participating in MHA’s voluntary certification program, hospital trustees receive training on current health care trends; governance best practices; ethics; government regulations; patient safety; and quality. Participants undergo 35 hours of coursework, making Minnesota’s initiative the most comprehensive in the nation.   

“In Minnesota, more and more hospital trustees are formally preparing themselves to address the often complicated issues facing hospitals and health systems today,” said Lawrence Massa, MHA president and CEO. “Our trustee certification program proactively ensures that hospital leaders are well-prepared to make good decisions.”   

“With so many changes in health care policy and practice — especially under federal and state health care reform — hospital trustees want this kind of support to be strong leaders in their organizations,” he added. “And earning this certification demonstrates a trustee’s commitment to the patients and communities the hospital serves.”   

Following are the newly certified trustees:   

Community Memorial Hospital, Cloquet 

  • Alvin Alm 
  •  Steven Vopat, M.D.   

Cook Hospital & C&NC 

  • Eric L. Pederson   

District One Hospital, Faribault          

  • Julie Olson   

Essentia Health St. Mary’s Hospital-Detroit Lakes

  • LaVerne Moltzan   

Hendricks Community Hospital Association

  • Allen R. Molascon   

Lakewood Health System, Staples 

  • Larry Lundblad 
  • William I. Mennis, M.D.   

Ridgeview Medical Center, Waconia 

  • Stanley R. Bandur   

RiverView Health, Crookston 

  • Susan Westrom   

Sanford Bemidji Medical Center 

  • Glen Lindseth 
  • Bruce Meade 
  • Dean Thompson   

Swift County-Benson Hospital 

  • Brian Samuelson   

United Hospital District, Blue Earth 

  • Roger W. Hanson 
  • Melanie Humburg     

For more information about MHA’s hospital trustee certification program, visit www.mnhospitals.org/trustees. For more information about Minnesota hospitals, visit www.mnhospitals.org.