Minnesota Hospital Association


April 27, 2015

Minnesota hospital programs, leaders honored

Minnesota Hospital Association’s annual awards recognize patient safety, volunteerism, innovations in patient care, hospital excellence   

ST. PAUL — The Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) honored innovative programs and outstanding leaders in health care at its 31st annual awards ceremony on Friday, April 24.    

Seventeen awards were given for extraordinary achievement in categories ranging from advocacy on behalf of hospitals and volunteerism to innovation and improvement in patient care and patient safety.   

“Each day, all across the state, hospitals are working to strengthen the health of our communities,” said MHA President and CEO Lawrence Massa. “The women and men of these innovative, high-performing hospitals have set the bar high for patient care and for meeting the needs of their communities. Thanks to their innovation, diligence and commitment, Minnesota hospitals continue to be among the best in the nation.”   

The awards and recipients are:   

Best Minnesota Hospital Workplace: Owatonna Hospital, part of Allina Health   

Bruce and Denise Rueben Courage Award: George Gerlach, CEO and administrator, Granite Falls Municipal Hospital and Manor   

Caregiver of the Year: Ed Wurtzberger, RN, New Ulm Medical Center, part of Allina Health   

Community Benefit: Winona Health; Lakewood Health System, Staples   

Good Catch for Patient Safety: Sara Lorenz, RN, BSN, Mayo Clinic Rochester Hospital, St. Marys Campus   

Health Care Workforce Champion (individual): Laura Beeth, system director, talent management, Fairview Health Services, Minneapolis 

Health Care Workforce Champion (hospital): Fairview Health Services, Minneapolis 

Innovation of the Year in Patient Care: PrairieCare, Maple Grove; Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital, St. Louis Park   

Patient Safety Improvement: University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital, Minneapolis; Catholic Health Initiatives – St. Joseph’s Health, Park Rapids   

Public Achievement: Sen. Tony Lourey (DFL-Kerrick)   

Spirit of Advocacy: Mary Maertens, regional president, Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center   

Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award: Larry Schulz, CEO, Lake Region Healthcare, Fergus Falls    

Trustee of the Year: Mary Theurer, Lakewood Health System, Staples   

Volunteers of the Year Award: Carole and Jim Lang, Mayo Clinic Health System in New Prague   

Please visit our website for descriptions of the 2015 award winners: www.mnhospitals.org/about/mha-awards   

 # # #   

The Minnesota Hospital Association represents 143 hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.