Minnesota Hospital Association


September 11, 2012

Six Minnesota hospitals recognized for excellence in patient safety

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Six Minnesota hospitals have been recognized by the Minnesota Hospital Association for their exceptional work to enhance patient safety and quality of care.

The Patient Safety Excellence Awards program recognizes hospitals’ efforts to prevent pressure ulcers or bedsores; falls; wrong-site surgical or other invasive procedures; and foreign objects unintentionally left behind during labor and delivery. Awards are bestowed quarterly, and hospitals must re-qualify each round.

The association’s safety campaigns — SAFE SKIN, SAFE from FALLS, SAFE SITE, SAFE COUNT and SAFE ACCOUNT — are based on national and state best practices. They also incorporate lessons learned from participating hospitals that experienced adverse health events.

Awardees must implement at least 90 percent of each campaign’s required measures. One such measure, for instance, requires hospitals to reposition immobile patients every two hours if such patients are at risk for developing pressure ulcers.

To learn more, click here.

Minnesota Hospital Association Patient Safety Excellence Awards Winners June 2012 (publicized September 2012)

  • Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Minneapolis - SAFE ACCOUNT
  • Albany Area Hospital & Medical Center - SAFE ACCOUNT
  • CentraCare Health System - Melrose - SAFE SKIN and SAFE from FALLS
  • Essentia Health Duluth - SAFE SKIN and SAFE COUNT
  • Fairview Northland Medical Center, Princeton - SAFE SKIN
  • North Memorial Medical Center, Robbinsdale - SAFE ACCOUNT

The Minnesota Hospital Association represents 144hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.