Minnesota Hospital Association

Quality & Patient Safety

Excellence Awards

Across Minnesota, hospitals are participating in the Partnership for Patients Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN) focusing on improving hospital-acquired conditions and reducing readmissions. The goals of the campaign are:

  • Decrease preventable hospital-acquired conditions by 20 percent
  • Decrease hospital readmissions by 12 percent    

MHA’s Excellence Awards program recognizes HIIN participants for their superior performance in patient safety in two tiers: 

Level 1: Certificates are awarded to hospitals that:

  • Report on 75 percent or more of eligible HIIN metrics
  • Participate on 75 percent or more of eligible HIIN road maps 

Level 2: Banners are award to hospitals that:

  • Meet Level 1 criteria
  • Meet HIIN reduction goal on 70 percent or more of eligible measures
  • Have dedicated staff or department responsible for patient and family engagement (PFE) activities
  • Have established a PFE committee or have a patient on quality/patient safety committee or team

The following hospitals have been recognized by MHA for superior performance in patient safety as part of HIIN:

Certificate recipients:

  • Alomere Health, Alexandria
  • Buffalo Hospital
  • Carris Health - Redwood, Redwood Falls
  • Carris Health - Rice Memorial Hospital, Willmar
  • CentraCare Health - Melrose
  • CHI St. Francis Health, Breckenridge
  • CHI St. Joseph's Health, Park Rapids
  • FirstLight Health System, Mora
  • Glencoe Regional Health Services
  • Hutchinson Health
  • Meeker Memorial Hospital
  • Mercy Hospital, Moose Lake
  • Mille Lacs Health System, Onamia
  • Ortonville Area Health Services
  • Perham Health
  • Sleepy Eye Medical Center
  • Stevens Community Medical Center, Morris
  • Windom Area Hospital

Banner recipients:

  • CentraCare Health - Paynesville
  • CentraCare Health - Sauk Centre
  • Lakewood Health System, Staples
  • LifeCare Medical Center, Roseau
  • Mercy Hospital, Coon Rapids
  • Ridgeview Le Sueur Medical Center
  • Sanford Tracy Medical Center